A Little Bit of Me

“I no longer have patience for certain things, not because I’ve become arrogant, but simply because I reached a point in my life where I do not want to waste more time with what displeases me or hurts me. I have no patience for cynicism, excessive criticism and demands of any nature. I lost the will to please those who do not like me, to love those who do not love me and to smile at those who do not want to smile at me. I no longer spend a single minute on those who lie or want to manipulate. I decided not to coexist anymore with pretense, hypocrisy, dishonesty and cheap praise. I do not tolerate selective erudition nor academic arrogance. I do not adjust either to popular gossiping. I hate conflict and comparisons. I believe in a world of opposites and that’s why I avoid people with rigid and inflexible personalities. In friendship I dislike the lack of loyalty and betrayal. I do not get along with those who do not know how to give a compliment or a word of encouragement. Exaggerations bore me and I have difficulty accepting those who do not like animals. And on top of everything I have no patience for anyone who does not deserve my patience.”

 ~ Meryl Streep

If your social media is anything like mine, then this quote has been all over it! And if you’re anything like me at all, you probably saw it several times before you bothered to read the whole thing. But once I did actually take the time to read the entire thing, I discovered that it’s fantastic. I have decided that I want to be the kind of person that Meryl Streep would want to be around. Not because she’s famous but because she has her head on straight. She isn’t involved in the kind of nonsense that so much of Hollywood is and this quote shows that she can’t stand unkind and intolerant people.

We live in a world that values very few of the traits describes by Ms. Streep. A world where we’re basically expected to be offended at pretty much everything. Where it’s more shocking when somebody accepts you without judgment than it is to meet somebody who appreciates everyone they meet for the very things that make them different. A world where we put more of a value on physical appearance than on what is really important. Where girls are taught to hate their bodies and boys are taught that it’s okay for them to be inconsiderate.

I am part of the generation that is eternally offended. The generation that cause “selfie” to become a real word. The one that idolizes celebrities who are famous due to their parents or to a sex tape. A generation that spends more time watching reality TV that doesn’t resemble reality than it does reading books. This is not what I want my generation to be remember for.

I want my generation to be remembered for the barista who learned sign language so her customers weren’t excluded. As the people who were so concerned with really living life that we’re willing to work a minimum wage job as long as it lets us experience as much as possible. I want it to remember my friends who are traveling or volunteering because that’s what life is about. For the positive things we do and not just our young and foolish mistakes.

Here I am going to tell you what it’s like to be a young person in a world that constantly criticizes young people, even when we’re trying to be good.

Leave a Reply

