Young People Living Life

I know that compared to a lot of people, I’ve gotten to see and do some incredible things. I had the incredible opportunity to go to a university that has a study abroad program in Rome, Italy. Seriously. Rome. Do you have any idea how big of a deal that is for a girl who was born and raised Catholic and absolutely loves her faith?! It was a literal dream come true and the dream only got better when I had the once in a lifetime chance to witness a papal election while I was there. That’s right. I was living in Rome for the resignation of Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI and the election of Pope Francis. That’s living in one of the most significantly historical cities in the world while some serious history is being made! I sometimes still can’t believe it happened.

During my semester in Europe I traveled to Paris, Madrid, and all over Greece and Italy. I saw things I seriously never thought I would ever get to see. A farm girl from Kansas standing in front of the Mona Lisa at the ripe old age of 20. Again, I still can’t believe it happened. But now, I have more that I want to do. I learned that some things aren’t as worth it as you think but others are more incredible than you could ever imagine.

So I’m going to record my bucket list right here for everyone to see.

1. See the Northern Lights. In person. With no light pollution to distract me.

2. Get lost in the Irish countryside somewhere.

3. Jump out of a plane. But there needs to be a parachute because I definitely don’t have a death wish.

4. Watch a game in every major league baseball stadium (4 down!)

5. Fall majorly in love and be confident in the love that is returned to me. I know it may not last forever, but I want to know that it is real, even if it only lasts for a while.

That’s it. Those are the 4 things that I absolutely HAVE to do with my life.

You’re probably thinking that it’s a short list for somebody as young as I am. But I am kind of a planner. I have known what career I want since I was like 10 years old. But the fun things in my life, I leave up in the air. I need some spontaneity and I want to find the incredible and hidden moments in life. You can’t find those when you live every moment of your day according to a schedule.

I admire my friends and those strangers I meet who are just wandering through life. And I think there are more of us out there than people realize. We work our little jobs and pay our big bills but our bank accounts never seem to be all that full which makes our parents crazy. But it’s because sometimes it costs a little bit to experience the amazing parts of life and the ones most likely to know this are the young and the old. Not our parents who are currently caught in between.

Leave a Reply

