Minor Victories

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. Every cloud has a silver lining. Rome wasn’t built in a day. There are hundreds of ‘ancient Chinese proverbs’ (that were probably never uttered by the ancient Chinese) that tell us to keep pushing forward.

But pushing forward is not easy. Trust me, I’ve blindly pushed my way through many situations. Digging in and working hard for months until I had the distance I needed to be able to breathe. But I never would have been able to do that if I didn’t take advantage of every small little win. Sometimes, that win was acing a test. Sometimes it was not failing the test.

Goals are often these huge lofty things that loom over us and make us feel like we have the weight of the world on our shoulders. But every major goal is only achievable through many small accomplishments. And the small accomplishments are what help get me through each day.

I’ve been doing that thing called working out and running. I kind of hate it. But I have solid goals that I want to achieve. Nothing that I’m going to be able to reach in a week of course, so I set smaller goals every day. Such as running the entire distance I set for myself that week or doing just one more push up than the day before. And I can almost always accomplish these goals! It makes me feel so great to watch myself improving! For the first time, I’m actually sticking to my fitness goals. Because I’m being realistic.

We have to be realistic in every goal we set. I’m not going to be able to pay off all of my student loans in a single year. But I can make more than my minimum payments and make my repayment period shorter each month! I might not be in medical school this year, but I can volunteer in medicine and get there soon.

These little goals help to realize that I am making progress. My progress might be slow, but everything takes time. The future of my dreams is achievable, as long as I make sure that my little accomplishments keep building up. Soon I will have achieved something major!

Just remember, the Great Wall of China is just a pile of rocks. The pyramids are just stacks of bricks. And mountains are just dirt. They can all be moved if you give it enough time.

Leave a Reply

