When Life Gives You Lemons

“You got to dig a little deeper
For you it’s gonna be tough
You got to dig a little deeper
You ain’t dug near far enough” – Dig a Little Deeper (Princess and the Frog)

I’m almost 23 and yes, I’m still happy to quote Disney lyrics. Deal with it.

But on a much more serious note, this week was rough. I mean really, really rough.

I’ve kind of always prided myself on the fact that I tend to thrive under pressure. If you give me a big long list of things to do, that’s usually all I need. Give me a list, it will get done, and done well! I’m good at time management and I know what REALLY has to get done and what can be put off. My priorities are (usually) in a pretty good order.

And I’ve dealt with plenty of stress. Just ask people who knew me in college. My campus ministers always said it was outrageous how much stress in my life, but I always managed to pull it off.

Well, last week changed things. For the first time ever, I started grinding my teeth at night. Like, I’m so stressed out that my body decided to cause itself pain when I’m sleeping because I’m not dealing with it apparently. I had a migraine for 3 freaking days before I figured this out.

Why am I so stressed you might ask? That would be the massive challenge of balancing medical school, a job, a social life, and dear God sleep. (I’m probably not sleeping enough, I can almost guarantee that.)

But I got through. Maybe not with the flying colors that I’ve had in the past, but I didn’t actually die. And I didn’t kill the poor construction worker whose job it was to jackhammer outside of my classroom all day on day 1 of my migraine. But I did hate him a little bit….

What did I learn from last week? That maybe it’s time to let go of my job. Just maybe I can’t do absolutely everything. I need to manage my priorities and just do what I can.

When life gives you lemons, absolutely make lemonade. But it’s kind of hard to make lemonade if life is handing you limes.

Leave a Reply

