Step into the Future

“Rock bottom became the solid foundation upon which I rebuild my life” – JK Rowling

Most people know that good old JK was turned down a bunch of times for Harry Potter. But we always seem to forget that those moments are in our lives too. Two years ago, I experienced the worst pain I’ve ever felt in my life, and every day since then, I’m just glad that I’m not reliving that. It has also changed my perspective on life. No matter how bad things are, and honestly usually only when they’re really bad, I tend to thing “at least I can walk away this time.”

School has been kicking my butt lately, but at least I can walk up the hill everyday to get there. Last year, I was upset because I hadn’t gotten in to school yet, but at least I could go to the gym and run off my frustration. Who knows what next year will bring, but hopefully I’ll be able to pick myself up, dust myself off, and take a step in the right direction.

There are some things that will turn your life completely around, but the good news is that there are very few things that you can’t walk away from. It may be slow, and you may only be moving away from it because time doesn’t work backwards, but you are taking steps in a new direction. You literally cannot keep yourself from moving on.

Your job is to make sure that you’re moving in the direction you want. You can’t turn around and go back, so make sure your forward is where you need to be.

Leave a Reply

